Paddle Battle unterstützt soziale und grüne Surfprojekte

Impact Zone

We have been supporting Waves for Change in South Africa since our 1st paddle battle in 2017. Last year the local crew from Cologne brought another partner organization with them: Valpo Surfproject from Chile.

This year we are doing our second PB Tour´22 in 6 cities, i.e. we have a total of 6 local crews who each select a local and an international partner organization according to the following criteria:
 

  • social & green engagement 

  • connected to the surf / ocean 

  • with a focus on promoting education 

  • personal contact, targeted project funding & long-term partnership


Our Impact Partners 2022:

Paddle Battel und Waves for Change
Waves-For-Change-Logo.png

Waves For Change provides a child-friendly mental health service to at-risk youth living in unstable communities. Through access to safe spaces, caring mentors, and a provision of weekly Surf Therapy sessions, W4C gives children skills to cope with stress, regulate behaviour, build healing relationships, and make positive life choices.

wemakewaves_Logo_schwarz.png

wirmachenwelle (wmw) implements various sports and adventure education projects with a focus on surfing in Germany.

The aim of the projects is to promote the personal development of children and young people as well as physical and mental health. The participants prepare for a surf camp on the North Sea for several months. Various sports are used in preparation, which are related to surfing but can be practiced in urban areas such as Berlin. These include: surf skating, self-assertion, swimming, stand-up paddling and slacklining. In addition to the sporting part, wmw integrates exercises and methods for mindfulness, emotion regulation, social skills and group cohesion.

wir-machen-welle.jpeg
Paddle Battle und Valpo Surfproject
Valpo-Surf-Project-Logo.png

Valpo Surf Project works in the city's poorest neighborhoods, which are affected by violent crime, drug abuse, and chronic unemployment. VSP provides a vital role in our students' lives. Our students have few positive role models and limited educational and social support. Through surfing, academic tutoring, & environmental stewardship we engage, educate, and motivate our kids.Kids enter VSP as young as 8 years old and graduate at 18. Many of our graduates are the first in their families to attend college. They are also returning to VSP to volunteer as mentors, giving back to the next generation in their own communities.

DEM1.png

Disfrutar el mar is a non-profit association that offers boys and girls with certain developmental challenges recreational therapeutic activities in the beach / marine area.

The main goal is to promote the integral development, autonomy and socio-athletic participation of these children and to promote their sensory-motor, psychomotor, social and emotional skills.

The method is based on two axes: the ocean as a natural environment, which offers the opportunity to work on sensorimotor, psychomotor, social and emotional skills. And surfing, which offers the opportunity to participate in social and sporting activities.

This work began in the summer of 2010 when a pilot course was held involving three children with generalized developmental disorder (PDD) and autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The result of this experience was very positive in all aspects. The children achieved greater autonomy, improved their physical condition, their perception of the body and their social skills (e.g. communication). In short, a huge improvement in their self-esteem was observed. On the other hand, the effect was also positive for fathers and mothers who saw that their children enjoyed an inclusive social activity.

disfrutarelmar.jpeg
Bildschirmfoto 2022-10-02 um 11.27.27.png
Bildschirmfoto 2022-10-02 um 11.23.32.png

Special Surf 78

Works with all persons, whether or not they have temporary or permanent special cognitive and motor needs in Baleal / Portugal.

Inclusive surf / surf therapy lessons take place almost every weekend for 8 to 10 months each year with our regular customers, but we also have one-off activities involving institutions and schools.

We use surfing as a therapeutic activity to develop skills in our students in the following areas:

- Autonomy and independence

- Attention and concentration

- Social and emotional stimulation

- Psychomotoricity

- Language and cognition

Paddle Battle unterstützt soziale und grüne Surfprojekte

Impact Zone

Seit unserem 1. Paddle Battle im Jahr 2017 unterstützen wir Waves for Change in Südafrika. Im letzen Jahr hat die Local Crew aus Köln eine weitere Partnerorganisation mitgebracht: Valpo Surfproject aus Chile.

 

Dieses Jahr machen wir unsere erste PB Tour ´21 in 4 Städten, d.h. wir haben insgesamt 4 Local Crews, die jeweils eine lokale und eine internationale Partnerorganisation nach folgenden Kriterien auswählen: 
 

  • soziales & grünes Engagement 

  • mit dem Surf/Ozean verbunden 

  • mit Schwerpunkt Bildungsförderung 

  • persönlicher Kontakt, gezielte Projektförderung & langfristige Partnerschaft
     


Unsere Impact Partner 2021:

Paddle Battel und Waves for Change
Waves-For-Change-Logo.png

Waves for Change bietet gefährdeten Jugendlichen, die in instabilen Gemeinden leben, einen kinderfreundlichen psychosozialen Dienst. Durch den Zugang zu sicheren Räumen, fürsorgliche Mentoren und die Bereitstellung wöchentlicher Surf-Therapie-Sitzungen vermittelt W4C Kindern die Fähigkeit, mit Stress umzugehen, Verhalten zu regulieren, heilende Beziehungen aufzubauen und positive Lebensentscheidungen zu treffen.

wirmachenwelle (wmw) setzt verschiedene sport- und erlebnispädagogische Projekte mit dem Schwerpunkt Surfen in Deutschland um. 

 

Ziel der Projekte ist die Förderung der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung der Kinder und Jugendlichen sowie der körperlichen und mentalen Gesundheit.

 

Dabei bereiten sich die Teilnehmer/innen mehrere Monate auf ein Surfcamp an der Nordsee vor. In der Vorbereitung kommen verschiedene Sportarten zum Einsatz, die in Verbindung zum Surfen stehen aber im urbanen Raum, wie zum Beispiel Berlin, gelebt werden können. Dazu gehören: SurfSkaten, Selbstbehauptung, Schwimmen, Stand-Up-Paddeln und Slacklinen. Neben dem sportlichen Teil integriert wmw Übungen und Methoden zur Achtsamkeit, Emotionsregulation, sozialen Kompetenzen und Gruppenzusammenhalt. Als Bildungsthema wird gezielt der Umweltschutz thematisiert und mittels konkreter Aktivitäten umgesetzt (z.B. durch River-Clean-Ups oder selbstgenähte Surfponchos). 

 

Neben der Projektarbeit setzt sich wmw für mehr wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisgewinn, Kooperation und Netzwerkarbeit zur Etablierung der Surftherapie in Deutschland ein. Gegründet wurde wmw 2017 vom Big-Wave-Surfer Sebastian Steudtner.

wir-machen-welle.jpeg
Paddle Battle und Valpo Surfproject

VSP arbeitet in den ärmsten Stadtvierteln von Valparaíso, die von Gewaltverbrechen, Drogenmissbrauch und chronischer Arbeitslosigkeit betroffen sind. VSP spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Leben unserer Schüler. Unsere Schüler haben nur wenige positive Vorbilder und eine begrenzte pädagogische und soziale Unterstützung. Durch Surfen, Nachhilfeunterricht und Umweltschutz engagieren, erziehen und motivieren wir unsere Kinder. Kinder treten bereits im Alter von 8 Jahren in VSP ein und machen ihren Abschluss mit 18 Jahren. Viele unserer Absolventen sind die ersten in ihrer Familie, die das College besuchen. Sie kehren auch zu VSP zurück, um sich freiwillig als Mentoren zu melden und der nächsten Generation in ihren eigenen Gemeinden etwas zurückzugeben.

DEM1.png

Disfrutar el mar ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der Jungen und Mädchen mit bestimmten Entwicklungsherausforderungen freizeittherapeutische Aktivitäten im Strand- / Meeresbereich anbietet.

Das Hauptziel besteht darin, die integrale Entwicklung, Autonomie und sozio-sportliche Teilhabe dieser Kinder zu fördern und ihre sensorisch-motorischen, psychomotorischen, sozialen und emotionalen Fähigkeiten zu fördern.

Die Methode basiert auf zwei Achsen: dem Meer als natürlicher Umgebung, die die Möglichkeit bietet, an sensomotorischen, psychomotorischen, sozialen und emotionalen Fähigkeiten zu arbeiten. Und dem Surfen, das die Möglichkeit zur sozialen und sportlichen Teilnahme bietet.

Diese Arbeit begann im Sommer 2010, als ein Pilotkurs durchgeführt wurde, an dem drei Kinder mit generalisierter Entwicklungsstörung (PDD) und Autismus-Spektrum-Störung (ASD) teilnahmen. Das Ergebnis dieser Erfahrung war in allen Aspekten sehr positiv. Die Kinder erreichten eine größere Autonomie, verbesserten ihre körperliche Verfassung, ihre Wahrnehmung des Körpers und ihre sozialen Fähigkeiten (z. B. Kommunikation). Kurz gesagt, es wurde eine große Verbesserung ihres Selbstbewusstseins beobachtet. Andererseits war der Effekt auch für Väter und Mütter positiv, die sahen, dass ihre Kinder Spaß an einer integrativen sozialen Aktivität hatten.

disfrutarelmar.jpeg